top of page
  • Legion Baseball

A History Of National Champions

American Legion Baseball has crowned a national champion eighty-six times since 1926, every year in that span besides 1927 when no national tournament took place.  Pennsylvania is home to three national champions: Boyertown in 1982 and 1987 and Yardley in 1996.  Interestingly enough, Boyertown topped Yardley in the state championship that year.

Pennsylvania has also had its fair share of national runner-ups.  The first was Levittown in 1970.  They were defeated by West Covina, California.  As a prelude to its first national title, Boyertown finished second in the nation to Honolulu, Hawaii in 1980.  Close to clinching their second consecutive national title in 1983, miscues ultimately led to Boyertown losing the championship game against Edina, Minnesota.  The only other national championship round appearance for a PA team came in 1988 as Boyertown once again missed out on back-to-back titles, they were defeated by a team from Cincinnati, Ohio.

Philadelphia hosted the first ever national championship in 1926, but it wasn't until Boyertown won the title on their home field in 1982 that the state hosted the tournament again.  Boyertown's Bear Stadium is the only Pennsylvania location to play host to the tournament, doing so three times (1982, 1991, and 1994).  In recent years, the tournament has been located at Keeter Stadium in Shelby, North Carolina.

We've compiled a list of interesting facts about the history of ALB national championships.

Representatives from New York (Yonkers, 1926 and Buffalo, 1929) won two of the first three titles.  No team from New York has won since.

As a whole, California has won seventeen national championships.

Ohio has accounted for seven titles, including a record five by Cincinnati Post 50 who won all of their titles between 1944 and 1958.

Puerto Rico has won three titles, back to back wins by Rio Piedras in 1973 and 1974 and by Guaynabo in 1984.

New Jersey has won four championships, with defending national champion Brooklawn owning three of them.

The list of past national champions can be found by hovering over the home link, scrolling down to PA ALB information, and over to the national champions tab.

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Regional Tournament Results Posted

Results from this week's Regional Tournaments have been posted on the pages accessible under the 2023 Post Season menu option. Click to view the results so far. Additional scores and schedules will be

Season in Full Swing

The 2022 season is underway around the state. Standings are being updated on the respective league pages. Updates and contributions of scores and standings are always appreciated!

2021 Standings

Legion Baseball is back after a year off! Standings from early season games around the state are being posted. Click the menu at the top of the site to check out each league. See a missing result or a


bottom of page